News & Stories

Big Honor For Kurt Angle At Pro Wrestling Hall Of Fame

Current TNA World Heavyweight Champion Kurt Angle will be honored at the Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame ceremony, with WWE Hall of Famer Jim Ross, Gerald Brisco, J.J. Dillon & others.

Below is the Press Release:

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum will recognize Kurt Angle during a special presentation at the Dan Gable Museum. The reception is exclusive to all-access pass holders and banquet ticket holders.

Angle was inducted into the Tragos/Thesz Hall of Fame in 2013 but was unable to attend.

The special reception will be held in the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Professional Wrestling Hall of Fame at 4 p.m. on Fri., July 10. Angle will be presented two rings: one for winning the World Championships in 1995 and one for winning the Olympic Games in 1996. He will also sign the Mat of Honor.

Due to his schedule, Angle will not be present on Saturday, July 11. This ceremony replaces his appearance at the Hall of Fame banquet.

“Kurt Angle is arguably the greatest athlete to step foot in a wrestling ring,” said Kyle Klingman, director of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame Dan Gable Museum. “His athletic background is second to none. We are honored that he will participate in our hall of fame week. This is truly special for everyone involved.”

Angle won NCAA championships at heavyweight for Clarion in 1990 and 1992. He went on to win a freestyle World championship in 1995 and an Olympic gold medal at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, both at 220 pounds. Angle continues to have a highly successful professional wrestling career, winning every major title at every level. He has won World titles with both WWE and TNA.

This year’s induction ceremony marks the 20-year anniversary of Angle’s 1995 World championship.

“I’m excited that Kurt will be in my hometown of Waterloo,” said museum namesake Dan Gable, also a World and Olympic champion. “Kurt was part of a very successful era of international wrestling for the United States. We need to have that kind of success again.”

All-access passes to the George Tragos/Lou Thesz Hall of Fame induction weekend are available for $100. Banquet tickets are available for $50. They can be ordered by contacting the Dan Gable Museum at [email protected] or by calling (319) 233-0745.

2015 Hall of Fame induction class
Lou Thesz Award—Brian Blair
Jim Melby Award—Wade Keller
Frank Gotch Award—Beth Phoenix
George Tragos Award—Matt Lindland
Distinguished Member (living)—Greg Wojciechowski
Distinguished Member (living)—TBA
Distinguished Member (posthumous)—Jim Londos
Special honoree—Kurt Angle

Scheduled to appear during weekend
Jim Ross
Gerald Brisco
Wes Brisco
J.J. Dillon
Baron Von Raschke
Dan Hodge
Jim Brunzell
Larry Hennig
Colt Cabana
Bob Holly

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

To Top