AEW News

AEW Introducing A New Championship

AEW Red Logo Article Pic WrestleFeed App

The AEW Continental Classic tournament will begin this coming Wednesday on Dynamite.

At last night’s Full Gear PPV, Eddie Kingston said he’ll put his ROH World Championship and the NJPW STRONG Openweight Championship on the line in every match during this tournament.

AEW later announced that a “Triple Crown Champion” will be crowned at the end of this tournament, because along with Kingston’s ROH & NJPW titles, the winner will also be crowned the inaugural Continental Champion.

The winner will be crowned at the AEW Worlds End PPV on December 30th.

Wrestling Observer reported the following about this new championship:

“So the deal with this is that the Ring of Honor Championship essentially is changed to the Triple Crown. The New Japan STRONG title essentially goes away as part of the Triple Crown.

This is what All Japan did in the late 80s when they had the International and United National Titles all merged. And essentially, it becomes one title.

The key to this is that they have a championship that is defended in New Japan, Ring of Honor, and sanctioned by all three. So that’s the uniqueness of it in the sense that it’s a three promotion.

So it’s a championship that was formerly the Ring of Honor Title that allows the Ring of Honor Title to be defended in three different companies as a joint promotion title.”

So far, the following participants have been announced for this tournament:

– Bryan Danielson

– Andrade El Idolo

– Mark Briscoe

– Eddie Kingston

8 More participants will be announced soon.

WATCH: Revealing Footage Of Carmella In A Pool:

To Top