WWE News

Tony Khan On Why He’s Going To Let Some Wrestlers Leave AEW Now

AEW Red Logo Article Pic WrestleFeed App

• Tony Khan On Why He’s Going To Let Some Wrestlers Leave AEW Now

During an interview with TV Insider, AEW President Tony Khan talked about not renewing contracts of some wrestlers and letting them leave.

Below is what he said:

“When we started a lot of people had contracts that were a couple of years long and a lot of them are coming up.

I have really tried hard to be very considerate of the people on the roster. Especially going through the pandemic. That encompassed a long period of time where we were still in our first year of television and going into our second.

I kept a lot of people under contract even though I wasn’t necessarily using them on television because I wanted them to still have paying work, which was hard to come by for wrestling during the pandemic where there weren’t any independent shows.

Really only two places were running and the other place (WWE) was cutting people left and right. I did want to give some job security to people.

Now with so many wrestlers coming in, I can’t renew all the contracts. I’ve had to make some tough choices based on ability, fan response, or both.

I try to maintain the best roster I can for the company and fans.”

Below are some of the names that are going to leave All Elite Wrestling soon:

– Lio Rush

– Peter Avalon

– Marko Stunt

– Joey Janela

– Brian Cage

Also Read: Tony Khan Brought Jay White To AEW Dynamite Due To His Own Mistake

WATCH: Kelly Kelly Shows Off Her Super Hot Buns:

• On This Day In Pro Wrestling History (February 12, 1999) – ECW Crossing The Line 1999

On this day in Pro Wrestling history on February 12, 1999, ECW aired ‘Crossing The Line 1999’ LIVE on PPV from the Elk’s Lodge in Queens, New York.

This was not one of the more famous ECW PPVs or events, but was still pure gold compared to anything you see nowadays.

The results from that night:

Chris Chetti defeated Little Guido

Axl Rotten & Balls Mahoney defeated Danny Doring & Roadkill

Super Crazy defeated Yoshihiro Tajiri

FTW Title: Sabu defeated Skull von Crush

John Kronus wrestled Steve Corino to a no-contest

ECW World Television Championship: Rob Van Dam (c) defeated Jerry Lynn

To Top