WWE News

Undertaker Reveals Who Would’ve Broken His WrestleMania Streak Had He Not Become The American Badass

Undertaker WrestleMania 37 WrestleFeed App

In a pivotal moment during the WWF Attitude Era, The Undertaker underwent a transformation from ‘The Deadman’ to ‘The American Badass’ at Judgment Day 2000. While opinions among fans differ on this character shift, The Undertaker himself credits it with preserving his legendary WrestleMania streak.

Speaking on the Six Feet Under podcast, The Undertaker shared, “I would have to think the percentages would be pretty high that the streak would have gotten broken sooner. I don’t know that for certain, but the percentages, and my understanding of our business, tells me that would have been a nice checkmark on somebody that was coming up.”

He continued, shedding light on the unforeseen career paths of fellow superstars, “Little did we know that Steve’s [Austin] career would be cut short. Little did we know that Rock was going to come off and become a big movie star. I would have gotten fed to one of them, and it would have been the right thing to do.”

Before the character change, The Undertaker’s WrestleMania record stood at 8-0. The streak, now synonymous with his legacy, truly gained momentum after he defeated Ric Flair at WrestleMania X8, propelling him to a 10-0 record and setting the stage for the iconic streak that would follow.

The Undertaker retired with a WrestleMania record of 25-2. Below is the list of all of his matches at the Show of Shows:

WrestleMania VII (1991): Jimmy Snuka

WrestleMania VIII (1992): Jake “The Snake” Roberts

WrestleMania IX (1993): Giant Gonzalez

WrestleMania XI (1995): King Kong Bundy

WrestleMania XII (1996): Diesel

WrestleMania 13 (1997): Sycho Sid

WrestleMania XIV (1998): Kane

WrestleMania XV (1999): Big Boss Man (Hell in a Cell Match)

WrestleMania X-Seven (2001): Triple H

WrestleMania X8 (2002): Ric Flair (No Disqualification Match)

WrestleMania XIX (2003): Big Show and A-Train (Handicap Match)

WrestleMania XX (2004): Kane

WrestleMania 21 (2005): Randy Orton

WrestleMania 22 (2006): Mark Henry (Casket Match)

WrestleMania 23 (2007): Batista

WrestleMania XXIV (2008): Edge

WrestleMania 25 (2009): Shawn Michaels

WrestleMania XXVI (2010): Shawn Michaels (Streak vs. Career Match)

WrestleMania XXVII (2011): Triple H (No Holds Barred Match)

WrestleMania XXVIII (2012): Triple H (Hell in a Cell Match with Shawn Michaels as the Special Guest Referee)

WrestleMania 29 (2013): CM Punk

WrestleMania XXX (2014): Brock Lesnar (The Streak was broken in this match)

WrestleMania 31 (2015): Bray Wyatt

WrestleMania 32 (2016): Shane McMahon (Hell in a Cell Match)

WrestleMania 33 (2017): Roman Reigns (this was his second and final loss at WrestleMania)

WrestleMania 34 (2018): John Cena

WrestleMania 36 (2020): AJ Styles (Boneyard Match)

WATCH: Michelle McCool (Undertaker’s Wife) Exposed Due To Major Wardrobe Malfunction:

To Top